Peter Gutwein

Premier of Tasmania

3 February 2021

Jeremy Rockliff, Minister for Education and Training

Students welcomed back to school

More than 62,000 students from Tasmanian Government schools have returned to the classroom today to commence the 2021 school year.

They will be joined by our dedicated teachers, principals, leaders and school staff, who continue to support our students to grow into connected and curious thinkers.

Last year certainly saw many unexpected challenges, but our school communities showed incredible resilience to overcome the unusual circumstances presented by COVID-19.

The Tasmanian Government has prioritised lifting education outcomes in Tasmania with a record investment in students, teachers, support staff, schools, resources and infrastructure.

We are proud of our $204 million investment in capital works for education, including new builds such as Brighton High School and Legana and our six new Child and Family Learning Centres.

In 2021 we will continue our focus on improvement in Literacy and Numeracy outcomes of students, with the introduction of the Year One Phonics Check to provide an additional tool for teachers to support student literacy.

We fully appreciate the critical role of skilled teachers in achieving student success, which is why we are funding 35 additional quality teaching coaches.

Funding will increase by $34 million to help build on improving access and engagement for students with disability, as part of our Educational Adjustments funding model.

This year work will continue by the three education sectors, in partnership with industry and the community, to deliver the Years 9-12 Project; delivering a new curriculum and a strong ‘Vision for Vocational Learning and VET in Tasmanian Schools.’

I sincerely hope that 2021 is filled with opportunities for each and every Tasmanian student to learn, grow and achieve their full potential.

My best wishes to you all for a safe and successful year.

More Media Releases from Jeremy Rockliff

More Media Releases from the Minister for Education and Training