Peter Gutwein

Premier of Tasmania

23 December 2020

Jane Howlett, Minister for Racing

New appointments to the Tasmanian Racing Appeal Board

I’d like to congratulate Dr Kim Backhouse and Mr Patrick O’Halloran on being appointed Deputy Chairpersons to the Tasmanian Racing Appeal Board (TRAB), with the pair set to commence their three year terms on 1 January 2021.

The TRAB, established under the Racing Regulation Act 2004, is responsible for conducting hearings and making determinations on appeals against decisions of racing stewards, the Director of Racing, Tasracing or registered race clubs.

Both, who were selected through an Expression of Interest process, are Tasmanian legal practitioners who bring a wealth of knowledge to the Deputy Chairperson roles, including experience within the racing industry.

Dr Backhouse has extensive experience in executive and board membership roles while Mr O’Halloran is a barrister with over 17 years’ experience working in courts and tribunals.

Both Deputy Chairpersons are eminently qualified to make determinations on the various animal welfare and integrity issues that arise in the context of the Board’s jurisdiction.

They replace Ms Kate Cuthbertson who has previously been announced as the new TRAB Chairperson (from 1 January 2021) and Ms Kate Brown who has chosen not to seek a further term.

The Tasmanian Government is committed to increasing diversity and the representation of women on Tasmanian Government boards and committees. From 1 January 2021, the TRAB will have 50 percent of its positions held by women, including the Chairperson role.

The Tasmanian Government takes animal welfare and racing integrity extremely seriously and is committed to ensuring that the TRAB continues to be fully constituted in accordance with the Racing Regulation Act 2004.

More Media Releases from Jane Howlett

More Media Releases from the Minister for Racing