Peter Gutwein

Premier of Tasmania

14 June 2021

Jeremy Rockliff, Acting Premier

2021 Queen’s Birthday Honours

Congratulations to all the Tasmanian recipients of awards in the 2021 Queen's Birthday Honours.

The Tasmanians who received these awards are remarkable individuals recognised for their immense service to our community.

Ms Barbara Baker has been appointed a Companion of the Order of Australia (AC) for eminent service to the people of Tasmania through leading contributions to the law, judiciary and to the administration of justice.  Ms Baker has also been recognised for her work in the area of family law, to professional legal organisations and as a mentor and role model for young women. Ms Baker will assume office as the 29th Governor of Tasmania on Wednesday 16 June.

Dr Stephen Rintoul AAM has been appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for distinguished service to climate science through oceanographic and Antarctic research and policy development.

Four Tasmanians have received a Member of the Order of Australia (AM).

Congratulations to Mr Noel Beven, Mr Michael Blake, Mrs Robyn Moore and the Hon David Porter SC for this recognition of their distinguished achievements.

Congratulations also to Assistant Commissioner Adrian Bodnar has received the Australian Police Medal (APM) in recognition of his 30 years of exemplary service to Tasmania Police, and to the safety of the community of Tasmania.

A further 17 Tasmanians have received a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) in appreciation of their contributions to their local communities.

Recognition in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List is one of the highest acknowledgments of community service an Australian citizen can receive.

Once again, on behalf of the Tasmanian Government I would like to congratulate all recipients on their outstanding achievements and service.

More Media Releases from Jeremy Rockliff