Peter Gutwein

Premier of Tasmania

3 February 2021

Jeremy Rockliff, Minister for Environment and Parks

Arthur-Pieman Conservation Area Management Committee

The management committee for the Arthur-Pieman Conservation Area (APCA) has been reappointed, and will continue to support the operations of the Tasmania Parks and Wildlife Service field centre at Arthur River.

The committee plays an important role in engaging with users of the reserve by providing advice, direction and support on appropriate recreational experiences which protect the values of the reserve.

The six member committee will continue to be chaired by former Western District Police Commander, Locky Avery, with returning members including Perry King, Ian Heres, Circular Head Council Mayor Daryl Quilliam, Willie Gale and Peter Benson.

This committee has a balanced cross-section of interests and it has demonstrated the importance of engaging with reserve stakeholders to ensure that the values which make the Arthur-Pieman Conservation Area such a special place, are protected.

I thank all members for their contributions so far, and look forward to working with them over coming years.

More Media Releases from Jeremy Rockliff

More Media Releases from the Minister for Environment and Parks