Peter Gutwein

Premier of Tasmania

15 November 2017

Michael Ferguson, Minister for Information Technology and Innovation

Recognising excellence in STEM in 2017

Congratulations to Tasmania’s STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) leaders recognised at the second annual Tasmanian STEM Excellence Awards today.

The Hodgman Liberal Government launched the STEM awards to acknowledge our scientific achievers and inspire others by showcasing innovative achievements across these core fields of study and research in the State.

The 2017 Premier’s Tasmanian STEM Researcher of the Year is Professor Graham Edgar from the Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies, for his internationally recognised expertise in leading a collaborative effort to assess human impacts on the marine environment.

Philippa Clymo from Waimea Heights Primary School and Ann Burke from Marist Regional College, have received the Tasmanian STEM Primary Teacher of the Year and Secondary Teacher of the Year awards respectively, for inspiring our next generation of scientists, technicians, engineers and mathematicians.

The Minister’s STEM Innovation of the Year Award was jointly awarded to Dr Alexander Bissember and Associate Professor Jason Smith for the development of a new cost, time and resource effective hot water extraction method of identifying potential beneficial medicines in plants.

Two special awards - Tasmanian STEM Communicator of the Year and Tasmanian Young STEM Researcher of the Year – have been awarded respectively to Emily Flies, who is a co-founder of the monthly Science in the Pub Tasmania and Dr Catherine Blizzard, from the Menzies Institute for Medical Research, for her work on Motor Neurone Disease.

The Hodgman Government is a proud supporter of the STEM community and Tasmania prides itself as a notable centre of scientific research and excellence.

The Tasmanian STEM Excellence Awards are supported by the Tasmanian Government, Inspiring Australia, the University of Tasmania and Engineers Australia.

For more information on the awards or winners phone: Sarah Bayne, 0419 472 539 or

More Media Releases from Michael Ferguson

More Media Releases from the Minister for Information Technology and Innovation