Peter Gutwein

Premier of Tasmania

19 June 2020

Jeremy Rockliff, Minister for Education and Training

Tasmanian Government School Intake Areas

The Department of Education has published updated intake area maps for Tasmanian Government primary and combined (district) schools, effective from Term 1 2021.

Following a broad, two-stage consultation process, with more than 1,000 submissions received, the updated maps ensure that our intake areas better align with school capacity, student transport routes and property boundaries.

I can assure parents and carers that the process for enrolling in schools will remain the same. Parents will always be able to apply to their school of choice, outside their intake area, if capacity allows.

Tasmanian government primary school and combined school intake areas have not been substantially reviewed since 2005. It is important that intake areas remain current and reflect changes in community population and need.

As part of the Act, the school intake area maps must be published by the Secretary of the Department of Education every five years – this ensures every child can enjoy quality teaching and learning programs close to home.

Further information can be found on the Department of Education Website.

More Media Releases from Jeremy Rockliff

More Media Releases from the Minister for Education and Training