Peter Gutwein

Premier of Tasmania

15 February 2015

Elise Archer, Speaker of the House of Assembly
Liberal Member for Denison

New Road Rules to Improve Cyclist Safety

Today at the Bonnet Hill Community BBQ in my electorate of Denison I confirmed that new road rules to increase the safety of cyclists on Tasmanian roads will be introduced on 25 February, 2015.

When passing or overtaking a cyclist, a motorist will soon be able to straddle or cross a continuous centre line in order to leave a safe space between their vehicle and the cyclist, when it is safe to do so.

This means to pass a cyclist safely, a driver can cross:

  • a single continuous line;
  • a single continuous line with a broken line on the left or right, or;
  • double continuous lines.

A safe space is considered to be 1 metre between the motorist and the cyclist on roads up to and including 60km/h, and 1.5 metres on roads above 60 km/h.

To support the changes, new yellow advisory signage with the message "pass cyclists safely" will be rolled out along popular cycling routes throughout March.

Public information including print media and a web page will be used to inform motorists and cyclists about the new rules. 

The web page will include a digital clip, depicting how and when to apply the rules, together with common questions and answers.

The Tasmanian Government is committed to improving the safety of cyclists in our state.

Other safety measures being developed or already implemented include a 'Keep Your Distance' campaign that reminds motorists to be aware of cyclists and minimum passing distances, a bike education program for primary school students, cycling related questions on Driver Knowledge tests and the adaptation of the Amy Gillett Foundation's successful 'It's a two-way street' campaign.

We want Tasmanians to feel safe travelling around our community, whether cycling, driving or walking, and are committed to enhancing road safety.

For a preview of the digital clip, go to

More Media Releases from Elise Archer

More Media Releases from the Speaker of the House of Assembly