Will Hodgman

Premier of Tasmania

12 August 2017

Matthew Groom, Minister for State Growth

New Macquarie Point Board Chair appointed

After three years at the helm, Mark Ryan is stepping down from the role of Chair of the Macquarie Point Development Corporation Board.

I thank Mr Ryan for his considerable service and particularly for his leadership in working with the Government on resetting the vision for Macquarie Point.

During his tenure Mr Ryan has set the foundations for the ongoing development of the site and ensuring that Macquarie Point becomes a valuable precinct not only for Hobart but for Tasmania.

I look forward to working closely with Brian Scullin as the new Chair as the Corporation pushes ahead with its revitalised agenda and bold new vision for the site.

Mr Scullin was appointed to the Board earlier this year bringing with him a wealth of experience to the role with an extensive background across government and the banking and investment sectors.

Mr Scullin’s impressive international career included a role as president of Japan Bankers Trust Company Limited and regional head of Asia/Pacific at Deutsche Bank. He holds a range of directorships including not-for-profit disability sector provider OAK Possibility and Tasplan Super Fund, and is also chair of the Tasmanian Development Board.

With Macquarie Point’s new direction firmly taking shape Mr Scullin will lead the Board in providing the direction and oversight needed for such a prominent and large-scale nationally significant project.

It is an exciting time for Tasmania and I look forward to working closely with the Board as we lock in the plan to realise the Mona vision of a new integrated place for people. Mr Scullin takes on the role as Chair alongside continuing Board members Mrs Kerry Adby, Mr Hadley Sides, Mrs Penny Morris AM, and CEO Ms Mary Massina.

More Media Releases from Matthew Groom

More Media Releases from the Minister for State Growth