Will Hodgman

Premier of Tasmania

7 December 2017

Elise Archer, Minister for the Arts

Lion a roaring success at the 2017 AACTA Awards

Congratulations to the producers of Lion – which has been recognised with an astounding 12 gongs at the 7th Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) Awards overnight.

As many would know, the movie is based on the autobiography of Tasmanian Saroo Brierley, A Long Way Home and his incredible journey to find his birth mother and family in India.

The Hodgman Liberal Government recognises the producers See-Saw Films, in association with Aquarius Films and Sunstar Entertainment for this haul –

Best Film

Best Direction

Best Lead Actor – Sunny Pawar

Best Supporting Actor – Dev Patel

Best Supporting Actress – Nicole Kidman

Best Adapted Screenplay

Best Cinematography

Best Editing

Best Sound

Best Original Score

Best Production Design

Best Costume Design

The Hodgman Government through Screen Tasmania is truly proud to have supported Lion with on-ground production support.

Lion includes breathtaking scenery from local locations including kunanyi/Mount Wellington, Cockle Creek, Bruny Island and the Tasman Peninsula.

And not stopping there, the hugely popular Tasmanian based Rosehaven was nominated for Best Television Comedy Series and it’s co-creator and star Celia Pacquola has won Best Performance in a Television Comedy.

The Gourmet Farmer was nominated for Best Lifestyle Television Program.

It’s fantastic to see Tasmanian stories competing with the best on offer and without ongoing Government investment in the State’s screen industry and its people, we would be unable to support feature films of the scale of Lion.

A full list of the AACTA winners can be found here: https://www.aacta.org/aacta-awards/winners-and-nominees/

More Media Releases from Elise Archer

More Media Releases from the Minister for the Arts