Will Hodgman

Premier of Tasmania

17 November 2017
Nic Street, Liberal Member for Franklin

John Laing Professional Development Awards

**Strictly embargoed until 7pm**

Congratulations to the four Tasmanian recipients of the national John Laing Professional Development Awards.

The awards acknowledge school principals around the nation who demonstrate outstanding leadership in providing professional learning in our schools.

Principals provide the necessary school and community leadership to ensure our young people get the best education possible, as well as recognise the support provided for the professional learning of teachers and other school leaders.

Tasmania’s 2017 recipients are:

Brett Youd – East Devonport Primary School

Sally Milbourne – Norwood Primary School

Kelly Dyer – Kingston Primary School

Mandy Reynolds-Smith – Montrose Bay High School

This year’s recipients have been recognised as highly effective school leaders, who exemplify strong leadership at a school and system level.

Teacher and leadership quality in schools is the most influential factor in improving student outcomes and sustained system improvement, and these leaders understand the importance of ongoing professional learning and development opportunities.


These awards were set up in 2004 in honour of Mr John Laing, a former Tasmanian school principal who worked for Principals Australia Institute (PAI).  He was the driving force behind the first cross-sectoral professional learning project for all principals in Australia, and was a pioneer in recognising excellence in professional learning for school leaders.

They are managed at a local level through the PAI state and territory offices and principals associations (Tasmanian Principals Association in Tasmania), and peers can nominate a principal through these state associations.

More Media Releases from Members