Will Hodgman

Premier of Tasmania

19 June 2018

Will Hodgman, Premier

Hockey Pro to be a hit in Hobart

Tasmania will host four games of the inaugural Hockey Pro League season, a new international competition, involving the Australian Hockeyroos and Kookaburras.

The competition will generate significant international exposure for Hobart, with games broadcast live around the globe.

The Government has provided $200,000 to host games in 2019 and 2020, which will be held in February.

The inaugural season of the Hockey Pro League begins on 19 January 2019, with 152 matches scheduled to take place between January and June.

Nine women’s and nine men’s teams will be competing for the Hockey Pro League title, playing eight home and eight away matches throughout the first six months of every year. The top four teams will then compete to determine the winner in a Grand Final later in June.

The Women’s League will see Argentina, Australia, Belgium, China, Great Britain, Germany, Netherlands, New Zealand and USA all going head to head, while Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Great Britain, Germany, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan and Spain will be fighting it out for the men's title.

The Australian program will be held in Melbourne, Hobart and Sydney.

Hockey Pro Hobart schedule:




Sat 9 Feb

Kookaburras v PAKISTAN

Hockeyroos v CHINA

Sun 10 Feb

Kookaburras v GERMANY

Hockeyroos v GERMANY

More Media Releases from Will Hodgman

More Media Releases from the Premier