Peter Gutwein

Premier of Tasmania

24 September 2014

Jeremy Rockliff, Minister for Education and Training

Finalists Announced in Education Awards

The finalists chosen in this year's RBF Department of Education Awards for Excellence exemplify the dedication and commitment of those who work in our public schools every day.

In announcing the finalists today, I want to pay tribute to the principals, teachers, volunteers and many other staff who are the backbone of public education.

These awards, an initiative of my Department delivered in partnership with the Retirement Benefits Fund, ME Bank and Teachers Health Fund, recognise individuals and teams for outstanding excellence, innovation and talent.

In doing so, they encourage everyone in our schools to strive to improve to deliver better learning outcomes for our young people.

For the finalists, I am sure it is particularly rewarding to receive the recognition of their peers and of parents.

All 46 finalists are to be congratulated for their achievements, and I wish them all well in the awards, which are to be announced on October 31.

2014 RBF Tasmanian Education Award Finalists

School-Based Awards

Principal of the Year Early Years and Primary: Heather Fahey (Longford Primary School), Jenny Leppard (Windermere Primary School) and Kerry McMinn (Albuera Street Primary School).

Principal of the Year Secondary: Hamish Cunningham (Woodbridge School), Mandy Reynolds-Smith (Montrose Bay High School), Tracy Siedler (Hobart College).

Teacher of the Year Early Years and Primary: Angela Buckley (Dodges Ferry Primary School), Kirby Medcraft (Windermere Primary School), Meg Lade (Summerdale Primary School).

Teacher of the Year Secondary: Jenny Cooper (Oatlands District High School), Joe Pavic (Elizabeth College), Tino Delbourgo (Penguin District School).

Teachers Health Fund Outstanding Young Teacher: James Charlesworth (Jordan River Senior School), Stephanie Heathcote (Perth Primary School).

Outstanding Use of Innovation or Technology in a School Setting: Ben Wilson (New Town High School), Helen Cooke (Elizabeth College), Jonathan Kilpatrick (Newstead College).

School Business Manager of the Year: Cindy McDonald (Ogilvie High School), Jan Robertson (Penguin District High School), Libby Ashlin (Lindisfarne Primary School).

ME Bank Support Staff Employee of the Year: Aaron Roughley (Hellyer College), David Hulton (Kingston Primary), John Klapsis (Elizabeth College).

Service Awards

Employee of the Year: Leigh Curran (Information and Technology Services), Nigel Cross (Educational Performance Services), Philip Walker (Curriculum Services).

LINC Employee of the Year: Cindy Carr (Huon LINC), Fiona Braithwaite (Rosny LINC), Julia Goss (Rosny LINC).

Young Employee of the Year: Brodie Hicks (School Information and Technology Support), Christopher Barnes (School Information and Technology Support), Jack Nielsen (Finance and Business Services).

Outstanding Service Delivery (Team or Individual): Microsoft System Centre Configuration Manager (SCCM) Project Team (Information and Technology Services), Vicki Howe (Human Resources).

Outstanding Team of the Year: Budget and Resources Team (Finance and Business Services), Project Team (Educational Performance Services / Information and Technology Services), Kingston LINC Team.

Outstanding Use of Innovation or Technology in a Non-School Setting: Digitisation Project (Tasmanian Archive and Heritage Office, LINC Tasmania), Microsoft System Centre Information and Communication Technology Staff Team (Information and Technology Services), Spendvision Project (Financial Services).

Community Awards

Volunteer of the Year Award (Non-School Association): Doug McKenzie (Westerway Primary School), Emm Kelly (Huon Valley Trade Training Centre), Tim Cox (New Town High School).

Outstanding Volunteer Contribution to a School Community (School Association): Alan Willis (Scottsdale High School), Annemiek Commandeur (Taroona Primary School), Gary Underhill (Scottsdale High School).

More Media Releases from Jeremy Rockliff

More Media Releases from the Minister for Education and Training