Will Hodgman

Premier of Tasmania

16 February 2017

Will Hodgman, Premier

Vanessa Goodwin, Minister for the Arts

Entries open in Premier’s Literary Prizes

Tasmania has an abundance of literary talent that complements our growing arts sector.

Submissions are now being called for the 2017 Premier’s Literary Prizes which are about celebrating the richness of the Tasmanian literary community.

The Premier’s Literary Prizes include:

  • Tasmania Book Prize ($25 000) – best book with Tasmanian content in any genre. This award recognises the influence Tasmania has had on content or perspective.
  • Margaret Scott Prize ($5 000) – best book by a Tasmanian writer.
  • University of Tasmania Prize ($5 000) –best unpublished literary work by an emerging Tasmanian writer.
  • Tasmanian Young Writer’s Fellowship ($5 000) – recognising a young Tasmanian writer aged 30 or under.

Books entered for the Tasmania Book Prize and the Margaret Scott Prize must have been published between 1 April 2015 and 31 March 2017.

Judges for the 2017 Premier’s Literary Prizes include: Professor Hamish Maxwell-Stewart, Professor Lucy Frost, Ms Victoria Ryle, Ms Anica Boulanger-Mashberg and Ms Melanie Tait.

The prizes are delivered by Arts Tasmania with support from the University of Tasmania and private philanthropists.

Entries for the 2017 Premier’s Literary Prizes close on 3 April 2017.

For more information, eligibility criteria and entry forms visit: www.arts.tas.gov.au/plp

More Media Releases from Will Hodgman

More Media Releases from the Premier