Peter Gutwein

Premier of Tasmania

9 May 2018

Roger Jaensch, Minister for Housing

Jacquie Petrusma, Minister for Disability Services and Community Development

Department of Communities Tasmania

The new Department incorporating Human Services, Housing, Disability Services, Community Development and Sport and Recreation will officially be named the Department of Communities Tasmania, and referred to as Communities Tasmania.

The new name reflects a focus on what the Department is for and provides a fresh new identity for the staff brought together to form the new Department.

Communities Tasmania will provide an even greater focus on enabling individuals, families and communities to achieve better outcomes and will bring together staff with the skills, knowledge and expertise to tackle disadvantage, help vulnerable Tasmanians and deliver greater outcomes in community programs.

The new Department will be established by 1 July 2018 and will allow both sides of the existing Department’s of Health and Human Services and the Department of Premier and Cabinet to put maximum focus and resources on their respective areas of responsibility.

We are also pleased to announce Ms Ginna Webster has been appointed as the Secretary Designate of the new Department.

Ms Webster has served as Deputy Secretary for Children and Youth Services since February last year and her extensive experience and skills in leadership and change management will serve her well as we implement this important change.

We congratulate Ms Webster and look forward to working closely with her in the lead up to the establishment of Communities Tasmania.

More Media Releases from Roger Jaensch

More Media Releases from the Minister for Housing