Will Hodgman

Premier of Tasmania

31 August 2017

Guy Barnett, Minister for Resources

2017 National Women in Resources Awards

The National Women in Resources Awards held in Launceston this evening highlight the valuable and growing role women are playing in the modern mining and minerals sector from the boardroom to the coal face and every facet in between.

It is fantastic to have these important awards held in Tasmania, with sponsorship from the Tasmanian Government.

These important awards recognise and celebrate the contributions and achievements of women in Australia’s traditionally male-dominated resources sector.

It is important because we know that a diverse workforce delivers huge benefits and opens up new opportunities and perspectives.

The national resources industry has set a target of increasing female participation to at least 20 per cent in non-traditional roles by 2020.

I would like to congratulate all nominees, and the winners to be announced tonight, on their fantastic work in leading the way on female participation in the mining industry.

Excellence in Diversity Programs and Performance

Sponsored by GHD Pty Ltd

GHD Pty Ltd (Tasmania)

BHP Billiton (Queensland)

Shell Australia (Western Australia)

St Barbara Ltd (Victoria)

GHD Pty Ltd (Northern Territory)

Gender Diversity Champion in Australian Resources

Sponsored by Tasmanian Government

Rob Lowther, GHD Pty Ltd (Tasmania)

Vince Lavery, Rio Tinto Weipa (Queensland)

John Galvin, Georgiou Group (Western Australia)

Fiona Robertson, Heron Resources (New South Wales)

Andrew Bigg, GEMCO, South32 (Northern Territory)

Gabriela Love, Newcrest Mining Ltd (Victoria)

Outstanding Tradeswoman/Technician/Operator

Sponsored by South32, TEMCO

Alana Phegan, Bell Bay Aluminium (Tasmania)

Carolyn Dobson, BHP Billiton Mitsubishi Alliance (BMA) (Queensland)

Sharron Freitas, Alcoa of Australia (Western Australia)

Jemma Callaghan, Coal and Allied (New South Wales)

Leigh Mott, McArthur River Mine, Glencore (Northern Territory)

Exceptional Young Woman in Australian Resources

Sponsored by Bell Bay Aluminium

Rose Lindner, Bluestone Mines (Tasmania)

Nikki Nagin, BHP Billiton Mitsubishi Alliance (MSA) (Queensland)

Rachel Leong, Woodside Energy Ltd (Western Australia)

Chloe Piggford, Glencore Coal Assets Australia, (New South Wales0

Brooke Naughton, GEMCO, South32 (Northern Territory)

Exceptional Woman in Australian Resources

Sponsored by Atlas Copco

Karen Ashley, Grange Resources (Tasmania)

Karen Alexander, Hastings Deering (Queensland)

Vanessa Torres, BHP Iron Ore (Western Australia)

Kirsten Molloy, Hunter Valley Coal Chain Coordinator (New South Wales)

Natalie Bruce, GEMCO, South32 (Northern Territory)

Michelle Keegan, Incitec Pivot Limited (Victoria)

For more information on the National Women in Resources Awards go to www.tasminerals.com.au/2017-tasmanian-women-in-resources-awards

More Media Releases from Guy Barnett

More Media Releases from the Minister for Resources