Peter Gutwein

Premier of Tasmania

31 October 2014

Peter Gutwein, Treasurer

2014 WorkSafe Tasmania Awards

A North West Tasmanian business has been named as the Overall Winner at the WorkSafe Tasmania awards for the second year in a row.

I was pleased to present the top award to Flowerdale-based electrical contractors, Powerlinestas, at tonight's presentation in Hobart.

Powerlinestas is an electrical contracting company specialising in services on low and high voltage, overhead and underground power infrastructure, as well as vegetation management and other network services.

Tonight's other winners included Hazell Bros Group, taking out the 'Best workplace health and safety management system', while Burnie's Grange Resources Tasmania was crowned this year's top problem solver, winning the IPM Safety Award for 'Best solution to an identified work health and safety issue'.

Danny Fraser from the Tasmanian Health Organisation–North was awarded the Safety Institute of Australia Award for 'Health and safety representative of the year' and the Department of Premier and Cabinet's, Ted Leeson, won the 'Best individual contribution to work health and safety' award.

The Norske Skog paper mill won the 'Commitment to a workplace health and wellbeing program' category, praised for demonstrating a personalised approach to its health and wellbeing programs.

Veolia Environmental services won the Self Insurers' Association of Tasmania Award for 'Best injury management and return-to-work program', being recognised as a business that prioritises the wellbeing of its employees through a well-planned, therapeutic rehabilitation program.

The WorkSafe Tasmania Awards have been held annually since 1996 and are an opportunity to recognise businesses, organisations or individuals who are leading the way in work health and safety. 

The WorkSafe Tasmania Awards are a highlight of WorkSafe Tasmania Month, encouraging all of us to do our bit to keep our workplaces safe.

More Media Releases from Peter Gutwein

More Media Releases from the Treasurer